9 In their hearts humans plan their course,  but the LORD establishes their steps.

Proverbs 16:9

As we approach the New Year this verse usually comes to my mind.  I guess it should not be too big of surprise to me that I think of this scripture, since this is the time of year that companies and individuals typically make plans for the upcoming year.

In past years as I have read this verse I have only really viewed it from one angle (interpreted it in one way), but this year I though we could dig deeper and see different ways to digest these words.  Over the next couple of days we will do just that.

Today I will look at the traditional way I have viewed this scripture…

In the past I have understood this to be more of a struggle for control in our lives, that try as we might to plan our course; God will determine the steps ahead of us and often orchestrate or allow a change in direction in an attempt to bring us back to Him  (or closer to Him).

Honestly I have probably viewed it this way because of my own struggles for control as opposed to submitting to God and seeking His will.   I do not know why I struggle so much with this, after all I know His heart is good towards me and He has plans for me to prosper and for a hopeful future (and for you too).  But truth be told there are so many days I am Jacob wrestling with God in the desert trying to get my way.

My prayer today and for the upcoming year is that I will lay this down and walk more in faith with Him in his direction more than I ever have (it is my prayer for you as well), will you pray for this as well as we prepare for 2012?

Have a blessed day,

Goodheart Ministries

Leave a Reply

