Book of John

 

Reach for The Hem Christian Inspiration


Book of John: Reflections on Chapter

As my little on sits momentarily distracted playing with some toys on the floor, I decided to “steal a moment away” with the Lord and continue my personal study of the Book of John.

I find that, with an adorable one year old in need of my constant attention, I have to stay sensitive to God’s leading and keep an eye out for even the shortest moment I can steal some time with Him.

So, Today I read John, chapter 2. It’s kind of a short chapter, sharing John’s account of Jesus’ first public miracle (turning water into wine at the wedding), and His rebuking the money changers and merchants at the Temple. But, what struck me most as I was reading it was the final verses of the chapter:

“Now when he was in Jerusalem at the passover, in the feast day, many believed in his name, when they saw the miracles which he did. But Jesus did not commit himself unto them, because he knew all men, And needed not that any should testify of man: for he knew what was in man.” (John 2:23-25)

What struck me was that, though these people believed in His name, He did NOT commit Himself to them. “Why?” I asked myself.

Two reasons stood out to me:
1. When did they believe? Only after they saw the miracles that He had done. Now, I don’t think there is anything wrong with believing God for a miracle. I’ve believed for, and received, kore than my share of miracles from the Lord, both big and small. But my relationship with Him can not be based on what He does, but rather on who He is. If my relationship with God is based on Him doing what I want Him to do, them my love for Him is totally conditional. That means He couldn’t trust me. I’d be what people like to call a “fair weather friend” of God.

2. Verse 25 said He knew what was really in their hearts. How often do we forget that God knows what’s really going on under the surface. In fact, He knows our hearts better than we do. Many times we convince ourselves that we are standing in faith when, in reality we are trembling in fear. We try to convince ourselves that we want God’s will, but in reality we pout when He doesn’t give us what we want. But, He knows how strong our conviction for Him really is. He knows what it’s really based on. If our love for Him is that “What have You done for me lately?” kind of love, can He really trust us?

Let us each seek to become those whom Jesus can trust. Those who love Him with a pure heart that seeks after His face and not His hand.

Ameerah Lewis

   
Leave a Reply

